An Exploration of Greatness

DSCN0357 DSCN0343 DSCN0345 DSCN0347 DSCN0348 DSCN0350 DSCN0352 DSCN0354 DSCN0360 DSCN0362 DSCN0363 DSCN0364 DSCN0365 DSCN0366 DSCN0369 DSCN0371 DSCN0372 DSCN0374 DSCN0375 DSCN0377 DSCN0380 DSCN0381 DSCN0382 DSCN0386 DSCN0393 DSCN0395 DSCN0397 DSCN0402 DSCN0404 DSCN0408 DSCN0409 DSCN0411 DSCN0414 DSCN0415 DSCN0416

Classes went really well for the week and I really like all of them. Didn’t get much homework and so I had a lot of free time that I spent well. Life in Scotland isn’t too different from America. I mean besides the fact that Mountain Dew doesn’t really seem to exist here and that a lot of food is a different brand or they don’t have something all together. It isn’t too bad, though, I feel frustrated at times when I am really craving something but they don’t have it. Except that, I am adjusting really well and feel that I can get used to my 3 months here. I know I will be quite upset already when I leave. I love everything about Scotland so far and have barely touched the surface.

This past Friday I went to Arthur’s Seat. A Giant hill/mountain thing that you can hike up. It is right next to Edinburgh. I was so excited to see the scenery and finally get out to do some hiking. It was Incredible! I had a lot of fun. I did realize though how out of shape I am, but in my defense, there were some really really steep parts. I went by myself, not that I didn’t have a group to go with, but it felt more self discovery that way. No talking to anyone, just taking in the full beauty and thinking to myself really helped De-stress myself from all of this change. Once I finally reached the top I loved it. I felt such a sense of accomplishment and relief that I finally made it. It was pretty cold and windy though. I met up with the rest of my group because we all made it up at the same time. (There are many many paths to get to the top).

I soon left with a friend and headed down to the “tourist area” of Edinburgh and tried to go shopping. I actually did find a nice sweatshirt for 10 pounds on Thursday at this awesome store called Primark. I was on the lookout for a coin pouch (you get a lot of one pound coins since they don’t make notes for that much) and a celtic bracelet. I found a bought the latter but it is pretty cheap and broke once on me.

I got to meet my host mom this Saturday. She is adorable. She has 3 grandchildren I believe and she is taking me on a drive next Friday and then eating dinner at her house. I think it will be a great experience to really ask questions about Scottish culture as well and to get to know a real local. I am really excited for this opportunity.

One thought on “An Exploration of Greatness

  1. Auntie Ann says:

    Beautiful pictures Andy! So glad to hear about your wonderful experiences…..enjoy every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

