The Highlands

So… sorry for my really really late post. I was rather busy with a few essays. I am also going to try and format it a little differently. If you guys like it this way let me know and I will keep doing it! Going to try to incorporate the photos into main text instead of slapping them all at the end. Gives a bit more context for each one in my opinion. Also I went to the highlands a month ago so this post is SOOOOO late and I am sorry.

This weekend was one of the most fantastic adventures I have ever been on. There is only one regret that made this weekend a shame, and that was the amount of time we spent at each place. To rewind a bit as to what I am talking about… I was able to go to the highlands this weekend for a wonderful adventure. My housemates and I went on a tour called MacBackPackers and we were able to see a lot of the highlands. It was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life.

I knew the highlands were incredible, but I never imagined how spectacular and breathtaking they actually are. The crazy thing is barely anyone lives there, which to me is insane since who wouldn’t want to be there? Of course, there are reasons as to why but for a moment let’s just forget those. We started the drive from Edinburgh up the east coast of Scotland (which does not compare to the west coast by the way), and made our way to a little town called Dunkeld (future home right here, haha). There was a great little church and it was rather neat.

DSCN0602 DSCN0605 DSCN0607

After Dunkeld, which as amazing as there were high hills surrounding the town, we went North and made our way to Inverness. On the way we got to stop by a Scotch Whisky Distillery and had a free drink of Whisky. We learned about the process and how they sit in barrels for years on end to soak up flavour.

DSCN0667

DSCN0668

Moving on, we didn’t actually get to stop in Inverness (The only city in the highlands apparently) but we did get to stop at the Loch Ness. Here it was rather cold and we could have taken a dip into the loch if we wanted. Surprisingly there were a lot who did. I was not one of them because I didn’t want to be miserable for the rest of the day and I mean the only reason for it is to have the right to say “Oh man, I got to swim in Loch Ness!” It would really be for bragging rights… which I am fine without. I mean I think living in Scotland for 3 months is enough bragging rights.

DSCN0722

After the Lake, which I did put my hand in, it was off to the Isle of Skye. We made a few little stops along the way for toilets and such but the bulk of the journey now was to drive. The sad part is that we made it to this incredible little mountain range right as the sun was setting so we didn’t get to see all of the glory but here are some of what was captured before it became too dark.

DSCN0732 DSCN0698DSCN0737DSCN0742

We finally made it to Skye when full night was upon us. We stayed at this village called Kyleakin (I guess it is pronounced “Ky-loch-in” from how our tour guide was saying it). It was a small village but had a beach and a ruined castle which we explored our second night there. We went to eat at this place called Saucy Mary’s, which is a pub and it had the best haddock and chips.

The next day was wonderous. We saw the Faerie Glen! It was an amazing view and I loved every minute of it. Our guide told us that we cannot disturb the faeries so we mustn’t whistle, put our hands in our pockets, or swear as it would offend the fae. It felt magical. We heard a lot of stories about faeries that day and we stuck our heads in a river because it would bless us with anti-aging properties.

DSCN0766 DSCN0768

DSCN0780DSCN0773 DSCN0779

After the Faerie Glen, we went and did some hiking. I was pumped because we would actually get to get off the buss for more than like half an hour. We got a little lost on the hike because our guide gave us pretty vague instructions and he then drove around to the end to pick us up. This meant we were all by ourselves and we didn’t all stay together so that made things worse. Regardless of us getting lost and arguing about it at the end before that was incredible. It felt so high and we were up in the clouds so it felt incredibly humid and I wanted to take everything off since my clothes were clinging onto me.

DSCN0789 DSCN0790 DSCN0791 DSCN0792 DSCN0793 DSCN0794 DSCN0796 DSCN0797 DSCN0798 DSCN0799 DSCN0801 DSCN0803 DSCN0804 DSCN0805 DSCN0807 DSCN0808 DSCN0809 DSCN0811 DSCN0813 DSCN0814 DSCN0816 DSCN0817 DSCN0818 DSCN0820 DSCN0821 DSCN0822 DSCN0824 DSCN0825 DSCN0827 DSCN0828 DSCN0830

So that was our big adventure for the day. We did get to go to a waterfall and drink from it because it was supposed to have special powers of giving yourself 7 years of good… well I’ll let you be creative and come up with something to fill in there ;p

So the next day was sort of the best day even though we had to head back. We stopped at Eilean Donan for a bit to take some photos and I got some good ones if I do say so myself.

DSCN0869 DSCN0870 DSCN0873

Then we just headed on home and we didn’t really stop a whole lot along the way besides toilet breaks and what not. Though we did stop in Glencoe briefly to ‘hike’. I use the term loosely because we just walked a long a path for about 10 minutes before we all headed back into the bus. It was a great view, however.

DSCN0885 DSCN0893 DSCN0912 DSCN0919 DSCN0923 DSCN0924 DSCN0925 DSCN0926 DSCN0927 DSCN0928 DSCN0929 DSCN0930 DSCN0931 DSCN0932

We then went to Doune Castle. This castle has been featured in a few movies. You might know it from Monty Python and the Holy Grail. The worst part was that it smelled awful. It felt like the entire grounds was covered in manure. Except that this was renk and not normal smelling. Other than trying to not breathe the entire time, it was rather neat.

Lastly before heading home, we stopped in Stirling to climb up the Wallace Monument. It was quite the trek to get up that hill. Quite glad that downhill was much much better. It was a neat building but we didn’t stay too long and then we went home right after. We were all pretty glad, it was a tiresome weekend.

DSCN0956 DSCN0962

Leave a Reply

