My Irish Adventure Part II

On Sunday our last day, Me and some friends that I made on the trip went horseback riding in Ireland. It was rather cold and we didn’t have any gloves so my hands were freezing. Other than that though we went through Killarney National park and that was incredibly beautiful. I had a wonderful time and my horse was named Major.

Once that was over, we made our way to Blarney Castle. At this point we were all tired and miserable and didn’t really want to do anything. And by “we” I mean everyone. The whole bus had this melancholy atmosphere around it. Though once we arrived at Blarney Castle we got over our stupor and made our way to go kiss the Blarney Stone. The wait took forever, and I am glad we got there when we did because once I got down to the beginning of the queue it was incredibly long. A lot longer than when I got in queue in the first place.

After that, we just wandered the grounds a bit and went into the poison garden. It wasn’t very special mostly because at this time nothing was blooming and it was quite cold. So as much as I can say I now kissed the Blarney Stone, it just wasn’t all that special. It was too commercialized and it felt like an assembly line. All I could hear was “next…next….next…next”. Just made the experience quite dull and manufactured. But hey… I kissed the Blarney Stone.

So finally after about two and a half hours of riding on the bus we got dropped off at the airport. Now our flight wasn’t until that next day at 6:25 am and we got to the airport in Dublin about 7:00pm the night before. Which was fine, my friend and I planned to have a fun adventure while we pulled an all nighter. I got a pack of Irish playing cards and we just played card games most of the night. Luckily, there was a 24 hour McDonald right by coffee and french fries were definitely bought with frequency.

Finally, we got to go through the gate and the most embarrassing part is we got a Starbucks and right as I get it. I get a nosebleed. Right in the middle of the airport. So of course there weren’t bathrooms close by so I quickly grabbed some napkins and ran to where I noticed a bathroom before. Yep… highlight of my morning when I am tired and haven’t had my coffee yet.

The trip finally comes to a close and made it back safe and sound. I slept all day that Monday. It felt great.

Leave a Reply

